Vestgeblogd

Het is niet onbeschreven gebleven.

Longlist DSM – Dark Side of Man

DSM staat voor Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders – de basishandleiding voor psychodiagnostiek. Het standaardwerk is ook wel bekend als Dark Side of Man en the Dark Side of the Moon.
De DSM beschrijft zo’n 370 diagnostische categorieën, elke categorie weer met eigen criteria. De mentale stoornissen die beschreven worden, zijn sterk ingeburgerd in onze samenleving, ook in de muziek.

Medical science has made such tremendous progress that there is hardly a healthy human left.
– Aldous Huxley –

Na het enorme succes van Cheers to the Freakin’ Weekendlonglist en shortlist met liedjes waarin drank een prominente rol speelt – vormt nu de DSM het uitgangspunt voor een verzameling topnummers. Daarbij nemen we het begrip mentale stoornis flink ruim. Hey ho, let’s go!

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

A

Alanis Morissette – Mary Jane

– eetstoornis

I hear you’re losing weight again Mary Jane
Do you ever wonder who you’re losing it for

Well it’s full speed baby
In the wrong direction
There’s a few more bruises
If that’s the way
You insist on heading

Anna Vissi – Σχιζοφρένεια

– schizofrenie

Σχιζοφρένεια
να μην ξέρω πού πατάω
σε μισώ και σ’ αγαπάω
Σχιζοφρένεια
τις ασφάλειες να καίω
να γελάω και να κλαίω
Σχιζοφρένεια
να κοντεύω να πεθάνω
και να έχεις κι από πάνω
την αγένεια
να μου λες πως κατά βάθος
είμ’ εγώ που έχω λάθος

Στον καθρέφτη με απόγνωση αντικρίζω
ένα είδωλο που δεν αναγνωρίζω
κι όσο πάει τόσο γίνεσαι αφορμή
να βυθίζομαι σ’ αυτή την παρακμή

B

Blind Melon – No Rain

– depressie

And I don’t understand why I sleep all day
And I start to complain that there’s no rain
And all I can do is read a book to stay awake
And it rips my life away, but it’s a great escape
Escape……escape……escape……

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
You don’t like my point of view
You think that I’m insane
It’s not sane, It’s not sane

C

Chelsea – Ritalin Kid

– Ritalin, een merknaam voor methylfenidaat, wordt o.a. voorgeschreven bij AD(H)D

geen tekst beschikbaar

Counting Crows – Round Here

– borderline

Maria came from Nashville with a suitcase in her hand
She said she’d like to meet a boy who looks like Elvis
And she walks along the edge of where the ocean meets the land
Just like she’s walking on a wire
In the circus
She parks her car outside of my house
And Takes her clothes off
Says she’s close to understanding Jesus
She knows she’s more than just a little misunderstood
She has trouble acting normal
Well I have trouble acting normal

Cypress Hill – Insane in the Brain

– onduidelijke stoornis, hypochondrie?

Who you tryin’ to get crazy with ese?
Don’t you know I’m loco?

To da one on da flamboyant tip
I’ll just toss that ham in the fryin’ pan
Like spam, get done when I come and slam
Damn, I feel like the Son of Sam

Don’t make me wreck shit, hectic
Next get the chair got me goin’ like General Electric
And the lights are blinkin’, I’m thinkin’
It’s all over when I go out drinkin’

Ohh, makin’ my mind slow
That’s why I don’t fuck with the big four, oh
Bro, I got ta’ maintain
‘Cause a nigga like me is goin’ insain

D

Dancing Pigeons – Ritalin

– Ritalin, een merknaam voor methylfenidaat, wordt o.a. voorgeschreven bij AD(H)D

And if you want to work it out
tell me what’s your point
And if you want to work it out
then tell me what you find out

You better stay where you are

video by Blink Productions

Deerhunter – Agoraphobia

– agorafobie (‘pleinvrees’, de angst om de vertrouwde en veilige omgeving te verlaten)

I had a dream
No longer to be free
I want only to see
Four walls made of concrete

6 by 6 enclosed
Soon we’re on video, oh, oh, oh
Feed me twice a day
I want to fade away, away

Cover me, cover me
Come for me, come for me
Cover me, cover me
Comfort me, comfort me

E

Eminem – Biterphobia

– angst voor na-apers (met betrekking tot ‘stijl’, woorden etc)

I had a dream I was gettin’ jacked by biters
It felt like I was bein’ attacked by spiders
Developin’ a fear of biterphobia
I’m holdin’ a gas can and lighter over ya
If I detect ya, I’ma pulverize
Dissect your brain, diggin’ in your skull for lies
And I’ma torture, with material iller
than a stark ravin’ mad serial killer
I’m more dangerous than a loaded chamber is
A major risk to a plagiarist

Eminem – The Monster (feat. Rihanna)

– schizofrenie

[…]
Hit the lottery, oh wee
With what I gave up to get was bittersweet
It was like winning a used me
Ironic ‘cause I think I’m getting so huge I need a shrink
I’m beginning to lose sleep: one sheep, two sheep
Going cuckoo and cooky as Kool Keith
But I’m actually weirder than you think
‘Cause I’m

I’m friends with the monster that’s under my bed
Get along with the voices inside of my head
You’re trying to save me, stop holding your breath
And you think I’m crazy, yeah, you think I’m crazy

F

Faithless – Insomnia

– slapeloosheid

I struggle and fight dark forces in their moonlight
without fear
Insomnia
I can’t get no sleep
I used to worry, thought I was going mad in a hurry getting stressed making excessed mess in darkness
no electricity something is all over me
please see insomnia please release me and let me dream …

G

Garbage – Bleed Like Me

– automutilatie

Doodle takes dad’s scissors to her skin
And when she does relief comes setting in
While she hides the scars she’s making underneath her pretty clothes
She sings:
Hey baby can you bleed like me?
C’mon baby can you bleed like me?

I fall down just to give you a thrill
Prop me up with another pill
If I should fail, if I should fold
I nailed my faith to the sticking pole

Garbage – I think I’m paranoid

– paranoïde persoonlijkheidsstoornis

I fall down just to give you a thrill
Prop me up with another pill
If I should fail, if I should fold
I nailed my faith to the sticking pole

I think I’m paranoid
Manipulate it
I think I’m paranoid
And complicated

Gnarls Barkley – Crazy

– bipolaire stoornis?

I remember, I remember
I remember when I lost my mind
There was something so pleasant about that place
Even your emotions have an echo in so much space

And when you’re out there without care
Yeah, I was out of touch
But it wasn’t because I didn’t know enough
I just knew too much

Does that make me crazy?
Does that make me crazy?
Does that make me crazy?
Possibly

Goo Goo Dolls – Iris

– automutilatie

And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming
Or the moment of truth in your lies
When everything feels like the movies
Yeah, you bleed just to know you’re alive

And I don’t want the world to see me
‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am

H

Hawkwind – Psychosis

– psychose, volgens psychiater Kuno van Dijk “een diepgaande stoornis in gedrag en beleven, waarbij sprake is van een desintegratie van de persoonlijkheid en een ernstige stoornis in de relatie met de realiteit.”
Op dit moment wordt onderzocht hoeveel psychosen dit muziekwerkje veroorzaakt heeft.

We have malfunction on screens.
Switching to computer override now.

I

J

Jacques Brel – Ne me quitte pas

– verlatingsangst. Volgens Jacques Brel behandelt het lied niet het verlaten zelf, maar meer de lafheid van hem in de relatie met Suzanne Gabriello (Zizou). Het wordt aangeraden in de behandeling dit stukje ontkenning bespreekbaar te maken.

Ne me quitte pas
Je t’inventerai
Des mots insensés
Que tu comprendras
Je te parlerai
De ces amants-là
Qui ont vu deux fois
Leurs coeurs s’embraser
Je te raconterai
L’histoire de ce roi
Mort de n’avoir pas
Pu te rencontrer
Ne me quitte pas
Ne me quitte pas
Ne me quitte pas
Ne me quitte pas

Jimi Hendrix – Manic depression

– bipolaire stoornis

Manic Depression’s touching my soul,
I know what I want,
but I just don’t know how to go about getting it.

Feeling, sweet feeling
drops from my finger, fingers
Manic Depression’s captured my soul.

Johnny Cash – Hurt (Nine Inch Nails cover)

– automutilatie

Hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
the only thing that’s real
The needle tears a hole
the old familiar sting
try to kill it all away
but I remember everything

John Lennon – Isolation

– sociale angststoornis

Just a boy and a little girl
Trying to change the whole wide world
Isolation
The world is just a little town
Everybody trying to put us down
Isolation

I don’t expect you to understand
After you caused so much pain
But then again you’re not to blame
You’re just a human, a victim of the insane

We’re afraid of everyone
Afraid of the sun
Isolation

Joy Division – Isolation

– angststoornis

In fear every day, every evening,
He calls her aloud from above,
Carefully watched for a reason,
Painstaking devotion and love,
Surrendered to self preservation,
From others who care for themselves.
A blindness that touches perfection,
But hurts just like anything else.

Isolation, isolation, isolation.

Joy Division – She’s lost control

– angst, epilepsie

Confusion in her eyes that says it all.
She’s lost control.
And she’s clinging to the nearest passer by,
She’s lost control.
And she gave away the secrets of her past,
And said I’ve lost control again,
And of a voice that told her when and where to act,
She said I’ve lost control again.

And she turned around and took me by the hand
And said I’ve lost control again.
And how I’ll never know just why or understand
She said I’ve lost control again.
And she screamed out kicking on her side
And said I’ve lost control again.
And seized up on the floor, I thought she’d die.
She said I’ve lost control.
She’s lost control again.
She’s lost control.

K

L

Lou Reed – Take a walk on the wild side

– (overdreven) hang naar spanning, met prescriptie Valium (merknaam van diazepam)

Jackie is just speeding away
Thought she was James Dean for a day
Then I guess she had to crash
Valium would have helped that bash
Said, Hey babe,
Take a walk on the wild side

M

Manic Street Preachers – 4st 7lbs

– eetstoornis

I eat too much to die
And not enough to stay alive
I’m sitting in the middle waiting

Days since I last pissed
Cheeks sunken and despaired
So gorgeous sunk to six stone
Lose my only remaining home

See my third rib appear
A week later all my flesh disappears
Stretching taut, cling-film on bone
I’m getting better

Karen says I’ve reached my target weight
Kate and Emma and Kristin know it’s fake
Problem is diet’s not a big enough word
I wanna be so skinny that I rot from view

N

Natasha Beddingfield – I Wanna Have Your Babies

– Asperger Syndroom

Gonna button my lip, so the truth don’t slip
mmm mmm m m m m m
Gotta beep out what I really wanna shout
Woops Did I say it out loud, did you find out
I wanna have your babies
It’s serious like crazy
I wanna have your babies
I see ‘em springing up like daisies

O

P

Placebo – Meds

– Korsakov (kan ook veroorzaakt worden door ondervoeding en overmatig drugsgebruik)

I was alone, Falling free,
Trying my best not to forget
What happened to us,
What happened to me,
What happened as I let it slip.

I was confused by the powers that be,
Forgetting names and faces.
Passers by were looking at me
As if they could erase it

R

S

Sonic Youth – Schizophrenia

– schizofrenie

I went away to see an old friend of mine
His sister came over, she was out of her mind
She said Jesus had a twin who knew nothing about sin
She was laughing like crazy at the trouble I’m in
Her light eyes were dancing, she is insane
Her brother says she’s just a bitch with a golden chain
She keeps coming closer saying “I can feel it in my bones
Schizophrenia is taking me home.”

Suzanne Vega – Neighborhood Girls

– geen idee, maar er is duidelijk iets aan de hand met het buurtmeisje

“I think you know your neighborhood girl, she
Lives on my street, now, with eyes of ice
I’ve seen her in the morning, when she is walking in the sun
And I always thought that she looked kind of nice

She spoke to me once at a party, I think
And I thought at the time that she had had too much to drink, because she
Said to me, `There’s a backbone gone
And I’ve got to get it back before going on…’

And your neighborhood girl seems to have resigned
She was looking out at people from the back of her mind
And before she went off she spoke to me again
She came up and said `You have the eyes of a friend
And there’s a razor’s edge that I have lost somewhere
And I would like it back so if you’ve seen it anywhere…
I’ve been out for a while but I’ll be back in a bit
I am just walking through the smoke finding out if this is it.
Because I’ve got this feeling that things are going grey
And I’d like to hear a straight line to help me find my way…’

Swans – Sex, God, Sex

– obsessieve stoornis

Come into my heart, sweet Lord
Come into my heart
I am open
I am torn apart
I am naked
And I am impure
I am sexless
I am foul
And I am ignorant
And I am hateful
Forgive me Lord
Come in
Come on in
Praise God
Praise the Lord
Praise God
Praise the Lord
Forgive me Lord

T

Talking Heads – Psycho Killer

– schizofrenie

I can’t seem to face up to the facts
I’m tense and nervous and I
Can’t relax
I can’t sleep ‘cause my bed’s on fire
Don’t touch me I’m a real live wire

Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away
Psycho Killer
Qu’est-ce que c’est
fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away

The Art of Noise – Paranoimia

– ‘paranoimia’ (portmanteau van ‘paranoia’ en ‘insomnia’)

How do I get
How do I get to sleep
Please let me sleep
Po-po-poetry, that’ll work

Come sweet slumber
Enshroud me in thy purple cloak
Hmmm, doesn’t even rhyme

Is that my teas made
Paranoimia paranoi

I cant stand tea
Tea, tea, tea, tea….

Paranoimia, paranoimia…..

Ahhh, Happy Harry’s High Club
How do I, how am I
Gonna get to sleep

Trust me, trust me….

>>> David Letterman interviewt Max Headroom

The Black Crowes – She talks to angels

– multiple personality disorder, verslaving

She never mentions the word addiction
In certain company.
Yes, she’ll tell you she’s an orphan
After you meet her family.

She paints her eyes as black as night now.
She pulls those shades down tight.
Yeah, she gives me a smile when the pain comes.
The pain gonna make everything alright.

The Black Eyed Peas – My Humps

– minderwaardigheidscomplex / narcisme

I’ma get, get, get, get, you drunk,
Get you love drunk off my hump.
My hump, my hump, my hump, my hump, my hump,
My hump, my hump, my hump, my lovely little lumps (Check it out)

I drive these brothers crazy,
I do it on the daily,
They treat me really nicely,
They buy me all these ices.
Dolce & Gabbana,
Fendi and that Donna
Karan, they be sharin’
All their money got me wearin’ fly
Brother I ain’t askin,
They say they love my ass ‘n,
Seven Jeans, True Religion’s,
I say no, but they keep givin’
So I keep on takin’
And no I ain’t taken
We can keep on datin’
I keep on demonstrating.

Timbaland – Give It To Me (Nelly Furtado & Justin Timberlake)

– narcisme

I’m the type of girl that’ll look you dead in the eye, eye
I’m real as they comes if you don’t know why I’m fly-y-y
Seen you try to switch it up but girl you ain’t got to
I’m a wonder woman let me go get my ropes

I’m a supermodel and mummy, si, mummy
Amnesty international got bankrupt, I’m on top, on lock
You love my ass and my abs in the video called promiscuous
My style is meticulous-s-s

W

Weezer – The Greatest Man That Ever Lived

– megalomanie, narcisme

I got the money and I got the fame
You got the hots to ride on my plane
You givin me all that I desire
Cause down with me, Im taking you higher

Im the baddest of the bad
Im the best that youve ever had
Im the tops, Im the king
All the girls get up when I sing, yeah

Im the meanest in the place
Step up, Ill mess with your face
I dont care where you are
Look up and follow the star

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W

Playlist

Bedankt!

▪ Blogslaaf Stijn voor zijn interessante paper over de DSM (en het citaat van Aldous Huxley)

AZ te G voor zijn waardevolle correcties en vele verrassende toevoegingen

PdV te G

JdB te B-R

▪ MD te U

▪ Study: Narcissism On Rise In Pop Lyrics

stoornis.org

Wikipedia

Trimbos

Meer playlists van @vest

Merken in liedjes ©

Geef een reactie

Informatie

Dit bericht was geplaatst op 1 november 2013 door in Lijstje en getagd als , , .
Follow Vestgeblogd on WordPress.com
